Acting President Osinbajo rejects four bills passed by Senate


Nigerian Acting President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo has been working hard to vet bills from the Senate while President Buhari is away in London.

Senate President Bukola Saraki read the letters at Senate plenary on the same day on Wednesday, February 22, in which the Acting President refused to assent four bills and returned them to the National Assembly for correction.

Professor Osinbajo gave several reasons for the rejection of assent to the bills and said the bills have been returned to the National Assembly.

Below are the four bills:

1. Dangerous medicine Amendment Bill 2016

2. National Lottery Amendment Bill 2016

3. Agriculture Credit Guarantee Scheme Fund 2016

4. Currency Conversion Freezing Order Amendment Bill 2016

Meanwhile, he also assented to seven bills passed by the National Assembly.

Senator Ita Enang, the Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly matters confirmed that Osinbajo had indeed endorsed the bills.

Also Enang explained that the Acts, other than the Defence Space Administration Act and Institute of Soil science were mainly Amendments to the Principal Act and they are intended to bring the Acts in conformity with current realities

About The Author

Bariduanen Lemon is a Writer and Editor who intends to keep you informed and glued to events and activities around you .Follow me on Twitter@LemonBarry and Facebook on Barry Lemon.

Related posts

%d bloggers like this: