PDP Senators walk out on Saraki

Nigerian Senate President

‎Senate President Bukola Saraki on Wednesday announced the defection of Yele Omogunwa, a senator from Ondo south, from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC)

‎Speaking after the announcement, Godswill Akpabio, senate minority leader, said since Omogunwa had defected to the APC, his seat ought to be declared vacant and asked Saraki to declare Omogunwa’s seat vacant.

But Saraki declined, and ruled him out of order. The senate, thereafter, erupted in a cacophony. Senators who are members of the PDP then walked out of the chamber.

Speaking with journalists after the action, Akpabio said:

‎”We walked out to protect the sanctity of democracy. Our protest is in line with the law,” he said. The supreme court has settled the issue there is no division in the PDP, so there is no need for a defection. So, Omogunwa should hand over our seat while he goes to support the APC in Ondo state.” The senate caucus would work with the leader‎ship of the PDP to ensure that Omogunwa’s seat was declared vacant.

Ajayi Boroffice, a senator from Ondo north, and Tayo Alasoadura, a senator from Ondo central, are APC members.

About The Author

Bariduanen Lemon is a Writer and Editor who intends to keep you informed and glued to events and activities around you .Follow me on Twitter@LemonBarry and Facebook on Barry Lemon.

Related posts

%d bloggers like this: