Contador is the man of the moment, in Italia.

images (2)

The Italian cycling race victory tape has just been crossed, and the winner is, Alberto Contador.images

Contador completed overall victory of the 2015 Giro d’Italia by safely negotiating a flat final stage into Milan won by breakaway rider Iljo Keisse.

Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo) crossed the line just behind the peloton to seal a 1min 53sec triumph over runner-up Fabio Aru (Astana), with Mikel Landa (Astana) finishing 3min 5sec down in third.

It was the seventh grand tour victory of Contador’s career and he now joins France’s Bernard Hinault as only the second rider in history to have won all three grand tours more than once.

The victory also means he has completed the first part of his bid to become the first man since Marco Pantani in 1998 to win both the Giro and Tour de France in the same year.

images (1)

The 2015 Giro d’Italia which includes six mountain finishes, three other testing days of climbing, six stages for the sprinters and a 59.2km individual time trial from Treviso to Valdobbiadene.

The 2015 Giro d’Italia begins with a 17.6km team time trial along a spectacular coastal bike path from San Lorenzo al Mare (at the foot of the Cirpressa climb) to San Remo on Saturday, May 9. It will end three weeks later on Sunday, May 31 with a 185km road stage from Turin to Milan and seven laps of a city centre circuit. The riders will race for 3481km during the three weeks, for an average of 165km a day.

The final stage had been expected to end in a sprint, but Keisse (Etixx – Quick-Step) broke away from the peloton alongside Luke Durbridge (Orica-GreenEdge) with around 30km remaining and then beat the Australian in a two-man sprint for the line.

download (1)


Stage 21 Result:

1 Iljo Keisse (Bel) Etixx – Quick-Step, 4:18:37

2 Luke Durbridge (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge, same time

3 Roger Kluge (Ger) IAM Cycling, +9secs

4 Alexander Porsev (Rus) Katusha, st

5 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Trek Factory Racing, st

6 Luka Mezgec (Slo) Giant-Alpecin, st

7 Elia Viviani (Ita) Team Sky, st

8 Moreno Hofland (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo, st

9 Davide Appollonio (Ita) Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec, st

10 Elia Favilli (Ita) Southeast, st

General Classification:

1 Alberto Contador (Esp) Tinkoff-Saxo, 88:22:25

2 Fabio Aru (Ita) Astana, +1:53

3 Mikel Landa (Esp) Astana, +3:05

4 Andrey Amador (Cos) Movistar, +8:10

5 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Cannondale-Garmin, +9:52

6 Leopold Konig (Cze) Team Sky, +10:41

7 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo, +10:53

8 Damiano Caruso (Ita) BMC Racing, +12:08

9 Alexandre Geniez (Fra), +15:51

10 Yuri Trofimov (Rus) Katusha, +16:14

About The Author

Related posts

%d bloggers like this: